Skip to content

Pico de Gayo give me hope

March 16, 2011

The other night, I was tired of cooking the same old grilled chicken. Recently, I have been trying to stay away from red meats since bikini season is right around the corner. So, to keep my dinners on the lighter side but still tasting good, I have been topping chicken with a few different mixtures. One mixture that comes to mind while I wait for Spring and Summer to grace Philadelphia with it’s presence is Pico de Gayo. There is something that I have always liked about Pico de Gayo, I think that it is the fresh smell that cilantro and lime add. I am also attracted to making this topping because not only is it fresh, but you can make a larger portion of it and store it in the fridge for a few days. It works well with chicken, steak, tuna or some chips for a snack. This recipe is pretty simple, takes all of ten minutes to make.

Pico de Gayo:
1 1/2 cups seeded, diced tomatoes
1/4 cup diced red onion
1 tablespoon diced jalapenos
1 tablespoon minced garlic
Juice of 2 limes
2 tablespoons cilantro, plus extra for garnish
Salt and pepper

Chop up the tomatoes, onion, jalepenos and garlic. Mix in a bowl. Add lime juice, cilantro and season with salt and pepper.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Lin permalink
    March 16, 2011 5:49 pm

    This looks delicious Laur. I think I will make this in the summer when Uncle Lenny’s fresh tomatoes grow. I think I’ll add some fresh basil too. I’ll have to replace the garlic with shallots, of course, for him. I think it would be great for chips and even fresh grilled Italian Bread. MMMM!!!

  2. Aunt Bernadette permalink
    March 17, 2011 12:46 pm

    Lauren: This looks delicious! Since Uncle Denny has turned into the cook in our family, I will be sure to pass this recipe on to him. Love Ya!!

  3. Jennifer Mastalski permalink
    March 28, 2011 2:37 pm

    Ohhh this looks so good! Definitely going to try it on top of some grilled tuna or maybe swordfish. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

