Skip to content

A Lighter Pasta

September 2, 2010


When it comes to pasta, most of the time I end up making a heavy gravy or creamy blush sauce, and do not get me wrong, these will always be first to me, especially during the winter when its freezing outside. However, when it’s hot, [I sat in my car this morning at the temperature was already at 84 degrees] and I am still craving pasta, I tend to go a quicker, easier route with my sauce. I decided to pair a simple sauce with chicken cutlets. This sauce is as simple as it gets. Tomatoes, garlic, olive oil and basil. Thats it! As I thought more about the mixture I realized that this sauce would also be great on top of grilled chicken, garlic bread, fish etc.

Tomato Basil Sauce
6 tomatoes on the vine chopped
1 cup basil
1 cup olive oil
1 garlic glove
crushed black pepper to taste
salt to taste
red pepper flakes
parmesan cheese

Directions
In a large sauce pan, combine the olive oil, and tomatoes with the garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Cook on simmer for about 15 mins. Add the Basil in the last 5 mins. Top over any pasta, add cheese on top.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 6:06 pm

    wow, how am I just now stumbling across your blog? Your food looks DELICIOUS!!!! nice work!

Leave a Reply

