Skip to content

Spread It

August 31, 2010


There is one thing that I can always look forward to when I visit my parents at the shore. I call it “The Spread”. Even before anyone can actually wake up and pour coffee, my mom is going to town making a fabulous breakfast. There is absolutely no need to hit up a diner, the table is covered with a breakfast meat of some sort, fruit, coffee, toast, and usually a frittata or like older Italian women say “fritad“. My mom said this past weekend that she makes a big breakfast so we can all be around the table and talk, before everyone is off the beach, shopping etc., sounds good to me.
The frittata that my mom makes is fairly simple and one that her grandmother used to make. In better words, it is a tradition. What am I going to do in the winter months when I will not have my mom to make me “The Spread”. Obviously, I will have to make it myself. This recipe is used to serve 6 to 8 people divide to make smaller portions.

Frittata
1 dozen eggs (use egg whites for a healthier option)
1 white onion chopped
5 to 6 potatoes peeled cut into quarters (this helps to cook them faster)
salt and pepper to taste
1 tblsp garlic powder
2 green or red pepper taste
2 cups cheddar cheese
olive oil for cooking

Directions:
In a large pot boil potatoes until soft about 30-40 mins. (Feel free to do this part the night before). When the potatoes are almost done cooking, in a large saucepan, add olive oil or Canola oil to coat the pan. Add the onions and peppers. Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Cook until onions are translucent. Once, potatoes are done cooking chop into bite size pieces and add to the pan with the onions and peppers. Brown the potatoes about 5-10 mins. While you are browning the potatoes, mix the eggs. Once potatoes are golden brown, pour the egg mixture on top, and add in the cheddar cheese. Put a lid on the saucepan and simmer until eggs are fully cooked. Remove from pan and cut to serve like a pie

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aunt Bernadette permalink
    August 31, 2010 3:57 pm

    Yep, I’ve enjoyed “the spread” and my mouth is watering now just looking at the picture of Vera’s “fritad”. Somethings just never change, like Vera’s wonderful breakfasts, and, hopefully, they never will.

Leave a Reply

