Skip to content

Slowin’ it Down

August 20, 2010


This weekend will be another one filled with everything shore for me, and when I am at my shore house, the cooking is usually left up to my mother. So, I will be taking the time to search through that recipe box of hers, I think she may have hyper-ventilated when I took it out with the fear of me dropping them all over the floor, since she has so many. As I was sorting through these I started to realize that out kitchen is literally as large as our living room, Im going to say exact. Made me realize, that for many families the kitchen is not just a place to cook but a place for a family like mine to relax as well. So I started to snap some pictures of all the cute things my mom has in her kitchen. Have a good weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia Realley permalink
    August 22, 2010 8:24 pm

    Dear Lauren:
    I am in Abu Dhabi, UAE with Allyson, as she receives her fourth chemo treatment and she showed me your blog…it’s wonderful! What a beautiful way to pay tribute to your Mom…memories of Vera always include cooking and laughing. I am not much of a cook but still think of her when I make chicken cutlets and peas ‘n pasta. Please tell her that I didn’t know of her cancer until her last treatment but put her in my prayers. Think of you all often and with a smile on my face. Please give her a hug for me and all my best. With love and great memories, Julie
    PS Allyson loves to cook and made one of your recipes for her friends and it was a hit!

  2. Aunt Lin permalink
    August 23, 2010 3:48 pm

    This is very true Lauren, especially in Italian families. No matter how large you home may be, everyone congregates in the kitchen, while someone is cooking, during dinner and even after dessert.

    So just remember when you’re either buying or building a home; the kitchen is just as important to be comfortable in as a living room or family room.

Leave a Reply

