Skip to content

Summer Salmon

August 18, 2010

Recently, I have been trying to eat as much seafood as possible. I hate the fact that there are only two more weekends left in the summer so to make the best of it, I am trying to hang on to the margaritas, coronas, seafood meals and flip flops as long as possible. This is probably the reason why I spent the weekend acting as if I was ten years old at the water park and on every amusement ride you could think of. I recall going home with an arm full of stuffed animals won by my boyfriend, from those games that you pay a ridiculous amount of money to play. So, I hate to say it, but I did not do so great this weekend with cooking. Instead, I ate Pizza, Ice Cream, and drank about ten margaritas.. really not that healthy, I know, I know, but it is Summer. Therefore, during this week, while I’m at home in the hot city, I wanted to keep it light and of course cook some seafood.

I really like Salmon and usually cook it plain, however, I bought Japanese Panko breadcrumbs that are great on seafood and they were a must use last night. Also, the one thing that I love with seafood is homemade macaroni and cheese.

Summer Crusted Salmon
4 Salmon Filets
3 tblsp. mayo
3 tblsp. honey dijon mustard
2 tblsp. sweet and sour sauce
1 tblsp. parsley
1 tblsp. lemon juice
Canola Oil for frying

In a bowl, mix the mustard, mayo and sweet and sour sauce. Spread on both sides on the Salmon Filets. Coat with Panko Bread Crumbs and set aside. Heat up your oil in a frying pan and then cook the Salmon approximately 4 mins on each side.

for the mac and cheese I used the below recipe but modified it myself. Note: my ingredients vary a little:
Mac and Cheese
3/4 pound macaroni, slightly undercooked
generous pinch of salt and pepper
2 tbsp. butter
3/4 cup heavy cream
2 cups assorted shredded cheese (I use sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack)
1-2 tbsp. olive oil
breadcrumbs
parsley

Fill a medium sauce pan with water and heat to a boil. Make sure the macaroni is slightly undercooked, as it will cook more in the oven. Drain macaroni and pour into a greased baking dish. Meanwhile, in another medium saucepan, mix butter, cream in saucepan and place over medium to medium high heat, stirring constantly with whisk until milk mixture comes to a boil. Allow sauce to gently boil for one minute, then remove from heat.

Preheat oven to 420°F.

Add shredded cheeses and stir until sauce is rich and creamy. Pour sauce over macaroni, mix well. It should be abundant, as the sauce will reduce and bubble down in the oven.

Just before baking, place breadcrumbs in a bowl. Add the olive oil, parsley, t and stir until crumbs are damp (they will brown easier). Place dish in oven and let bake until cheese bubbles and crumbs are brown.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Bernadette permalink
    August 18, 2010 4:15 pm

    Lauren: You are turning into quite a cook, just like your mom! Don’t get too good because you just may get stuck making the holiday meals! Proud of you!!!

  2. Aunt Donna permalink
    August 18, 2010 4:52 pm

    Lauren: You totally surprised me,didn’t realize you cooked so good or so much! Vera you better watch, I think you might have some competition…..

Leave a Reply

