Skip to content

No Fillers in Our Crabs

August 10, 2010

This past weekend was a whirlwind at my shore house, everybody was there. Thankfully, I am able to go there every weekend to do the beach thing in LongPort, NJ. (Yes, the Jersey Shore, but we do not fist pump in Margate, and definitely not in LongPort) I luckily got to go on the beach everyday and even better I was able to somehow eat crabs not one, but two nights this weekend. Friday, my boyfriend’s family had their “Crabfest” where they have pasta in crab gravy (stay tuned for that recipe), then plain crabs in Old Bay with Lemon, and a lot of Corona and Bubble Gum vodka shots mixed in there.
But what really got me this weekend was the fact that my mom, Vera, once again cooked every. single. meal. There is no stopping her, we had visitors each day to see her and dinner guests each night. On Saturday night, we had my Aunt and Uncle over for dinner, and I learned how to make crab cakes and I will be repeating this recipe probably within the next couple days. They were fantastic, so easy to make and a lot better than most I have had in restaurants. Sometimes, when I go out and get crab cakes, I end up searching for the crab because they use so much filler. My mom’s crab cakes were straight up Crab. The best part, when I asked my mom for the recipe she looked at me crazy and said “I don’t measure anything” so here is what I have come up with:

Crab Cake Mix:
2 cans of lump crab meat (my parents go to Bob’s Seafood, but your local food market has good ones too)
1 tblsp Old Bay
salt and pepper to taste
2 tblsp fresh Parsley
1/2 cup mayo

Other Ingrediants:
Panko Japanese Style Bread Crumbs
Vegetable Oil for Frying

In a bowl, mix your crab, parsley, mayo, and Old Bay. Season with salt and pepper and taste. If you favor more old Bay add, or a creamier crab cake add more mayo. Set in fridge for an hour. Then, in your hand, make small disks about the size of your palm out of the crab mix. Cover in bread crumbs and set aside. Once you have breaded all of your mix, you are ready to fry. Heat your vegetable oil in a deep pan. Vera told me that you will know when the oil is hot enough for frying when you put a wooden spoon in the oil and it begins to bubble around the wood. Fry your crab cakes until they are golden brown on both sides. I would say about 4 minutes each side.

Optional Side Dish Tomato Salad
This is an easy side dish that is perfect for summer
4 tomatoes on the vine
2 tblsp fresh basil
1 garlic clove chopped
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 onion (any kind you prefer)
salt and pepper to taste
Cut your tomatoes in quarters and slice your onion. In a bowl mix all ingredients together. That’s it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Bernadette permalink
    August 10, 2010 3:58 pm

    Since I am the aunt that had Vera’s crabcakes on Saturday night, I will confirm that they were absolutely delicious. Vera’s recipe wins hands down against any restaurant and that includes the famous Bobby Chez. I am defintely going to try to make them, but I am already convinced that they won’t be as good as Vera’s!

  2. August 11, 2010 2:38 am

    I’m all over this. I’ll let you know how it goes when I do it. Sounds and looks delish!

Leave a Reply

