Skip to content

Food, for Italians, is not just something we eat, its something we do.

July 26, 2010

So to start this Blog thing off, I would like to dedicate this blog to my mom. My mom, is the best cook ever. But who are we kidding, everybody thinks their mom is the best.. however, if you know me and you have had dinner at my house, we all know that her food comes with more than just the meal. It comes with a “Vera Experience”. My mom, Vera, is a combo of George Constanza’s mother from Seinfeld and the mother from Everybody Loves Raymond minus that crazy makeup. But, she’s the best!

This winter, my mom was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. She, however, was one of the lucky women out there and will be just fine. She just finished her chemotherapy and is getting better by the day. I have never met anyone stronger and who can get through this rough time by cooking daily and even having dinner parties. This is to you, Mom.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel Siligrini permalink
    July 28, 2010 4:26 pm

    Beautifully said…..other than all moms are great cooks. Lol. Vera’s warmth, hospitality, and delicious cooking, have touched the lives of so many individuals. It has been a priviledge for my family to share holidays and special occasions with the Lanzilotti family. Your mother has shared special recipes with me, and they just cannot be duplicated. I also admire her strength over the past few months, and through it all, her door was open offering her great dinners, pizzas and desserts to all. Vera certainly defines the perfect Italian wife and mother. I am proud to be her friend, and I can only imagine how special and proud you are to call her ‘mom’.

  2. Justin permalink
    July 28, 2010 4:43 pm

    No doubt about it, there is something to be said for the “Vera Experience”. My mom and “Aunt’ Vera have been friends forever and while I will of course say that my mom is the best cook there is no denying that there is that little something extra with a Vera prepared meal. I am so happy that she is on the road to recovery and since she is like a member of the family I was worried when she was first diagnosed. Here’s to many more Vera Experiences. Love you guys!!

  3. Aunt Bernadette permalink
    July 28, 2010 4:52 pm

    Lauren: What a wonderful and meaningful tribute to your mom – my dearest friend. As a frequent guest at your parents’ dinner table, I can attest that your mom IS the BEST COOK EVER. Anyone who has had the pleasure of having one of Vera’s meals will agree that it is truly the “Vera Experience” that makes it so very special. She is “one of a kind”! I can’t remember life before Vera and I never want to know it without her. Her tenacity and fortitude have always been an inspriration to me. I know these attributes and the love and support from her family and friends will get her through this battle. Love, Aunt Bernadette

  4. Haley permalink
    July 28, 2010 6:25 pm

    I met Lauren when I was in sixth grade. She has been one of the best friends anyone could ask for over the years. I can remember being younger and looking forward to sleep overs at the Lanzilotti house knowing that we were going to eat like kings and that the night would be full of laughter and warmth from Vera. Vera not only opened her home to myself but also to my family many times throughout high school. As we grew older, the over nights turned into weekends at the the shore where Vera continued to stuff our bellies with her amazing cooking. I never complained, we couldn’t go to the beach without a full lunch packed. Eventually we all grew up and now have jobs to get back to after the weekend, but if Vera asks if I would like to stay for dinner, I’m staying because it is truly a “Vera Experience”. Vera is an amazing woman who couldn’t give more to any one of us. We recently went to visit her at the shore house and there she was, strong as ever and still feeding us. There is just no stopping her. I love Vera for her food but most of all I love her for who she is and what she stands for. Vera thank you so much for all of the memories throughout the years, some of my hardest laughs have been in your kitchen and thank you for raising such an amazing daughter because without her I wouldn’t be all that I am. You are an inspiration. Love, Haley

Leave a Reply

